Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education Proceedings

June 10, 2024

The regular meeting of the Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education was held on the above date at the Educational Service Center. President, Mr. Prieve, called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Isaac Dornfeld, Marge Jorgensen, Mary Kuntz, Maria Mason, Lisa Panzer, Chad Prieve, Heather Scholz, and Joanne Tyjeski. Board members absent: John Kraus, Jr.

Mr. Prieve led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Jorgensen moved, Kuntz seconded, to approve the minutes from the regular meeting on May 13, 2024, and the special meetings on May 13 and June 3, 2024, as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Prieve welcomed visitors.

Jorgensen moved, Kuntz seconded, to adopt the agenda as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. DiStefano, Superintendent, presented a draft of the board engagement plan for the 2024-2025 school year. The list includes board and committee meeting schedules, formal board engagement opportunities and district team/committee meetings that include board member participation, as well as school and community engagement opportunities.

Tyjeski moved, Dornfeld seconded, to adopt the 2024-2025 board engagement plan as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Cashman, Director of Business Services, provided information regarding bonds that were issued in relation to the 2016 referendum. He explained that the Fund 39 levy is outside the revenue limit and there was previous debt defeasance action taken in 2021 and 2023. He presented a recommendation to approve the Defeasance of Certain of the General Obligation Refunding Bonds, Series 2017A, Dated April 3, 2017 and Certain of the General Obligation School Building and Improvement Bonds, Series 2017B, Dated May 2, 2017. The defeasance of the debt will save the district \$518,591 in interest.

Tyjeski moved, Jorgensen seconded, to adopt a Resolution Authorizing the Transfer of Funds, the Establishment of an Escrow Account with Respect to and the Defeasance of Certain of the General Obligation Refunding Bonds, Series 2017A, Dated April 3, 2017 and Certain of the General Obligation School Building and Improvement Bonds, Series 2017B, Dated May 2, 2017.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Jorgensen, Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Scholz, Tyjeski, and Dornfeld. Nay-None.

Mr. Prieve announced that the Operations Committee and Teaching and Learning Committee did not meet since the last board meeting and the next meetings are scheduled for June 24.

Mr. Prieve provided a review of the community facilities survey workshop. He explained that the board requested additional information along with context for the prospect of potentially less-costly plans. Board members provided their perspectives of the workshop.

Board members shared the engagement opportunities they participated in since the last board meeting.

Board members recognized the high school graduating class, 8th grade class, and thanked all those involved with each ceremony. They recognized the retiring staff from this school year, Mr. Ziebarth for inviting board members to participate in the High School Civics class, and all staff for a successful year.

Mr. DiStefano recognized all those involved with the successful evacuation of Wilson Elementary School.

Tyjeski moved, Jorgensen seconded, the board recess into closed session pursuant to Wis. Stat. §19.85 (1)(c) considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility, specifically to discuss specific employees and employee groups, and to discuss negotiation strategy.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Scholz, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, and Jorgensen. Nay-None.

During closed session, there was discussion regarding specific employees, employee groups, and negotiation strategy.

Kuntz moved, Jorgensen seconded, to reconvene into open session.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following resignations/retirement: Dominick Ackerman-Math Teacher-Middle School (Resignation); Vanessa Buchda-Grade 2 Teacher-Prairie View Elementary School (Resignation effective end of the 2023-24 school year); Abigail Craven-Art Teacher-High School (Resignation effective end of the 2023-24 school year); Kelli Elert-Grade 5 Teacher-Lincoln Elementary School (Resignation effective end of the 2023-24 school year); Lydia Frazier-English Teacher-High School (Resignation effective end of the 2023-24 school year); Jennifer Meyers-Grade 1 Teacher-Washington Elementary School (Resignation effective end of the 2023-24 school year); Jennifer Meyers-Grade 1 Susan Schwantes-Special Education Teaching Assistant-Prairie View Elementary School (Retirement effective 12/20/24).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following leave of absence request: Daniel Aumann-Physical Education Teacher-Prairie View Elementary School (FMLA 11/8/24-11/25/24).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Kuntz seconded, to approve the following appointments: Jessica Baumann-School Counselor-Jefferson Elementary School, Tom Bock-Substitute Teacher-High School (LTE 2024-25 school year); Shelly Ehlenbeck-Substitute Teacher-Elementary School (LTE 2024-25 school year); Mary Hendrix-Special Education Teacher-High School (.50 LTE 2024-2025 school year); Rachel Holland-Substitute Teacher-Middle School (LTE 2024-25 school year); Johnna Knoke-Spanish Teacher-Middle

School; Abigail Rivest-Art Teacher-High School; Cassandra Schickert-Special Education Teacher-Jefferson Elementary School; Holly Steiner-Dean of Students-High School, and Nicole Voigt-Substitute Teacher-Elementary Schools (LTE 2024-25 school year).

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Scholz, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, and Kuntz. Nay-None.

Tyjeski moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the payment of financial claims (Voucher #566, #567, and #569) for District Credit Card, ACH File, Net Payroll, Payroll Taxes, WEA Trust Advantage, American Funds, Ameriprise, AXA, AXA Roth, Fidelity, Franklin, Health Savings Account, Health Savings Account (District), Met Life, Sec Benefit Life, Thrivent, WEA TSA, Payroll Related Voucher, District Insurances, and Wisconsin Retirement System for a total of \$3,925,970.40. (A listing of these vouchers can be found in the Accounts Payable Check Register.)

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Panzer, Prieve, Scholz, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, Kuntz, and Mason. Nay-None.

Tyjeski moved, Kuntz seconded, to adjourn the meeting.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote and the meeting was adjourned at 8:15 p.m.

/s/ Chad Prieve, President

<u>/s/</u>

Marge Jorgensen, Clerk